Archive

Archive for August 1, 2021

More Than Loaves

August 1, 2021 Leave a comment

10th Sunday after Pentecost (Lectionary 18), Year B
Texts: Ex 16.2-4, 9-15; Jn 6.22-35

As we journey through these 5 Bread of Life Sundays this year, I am particularly interested in where we as the Church are seeking to be fed, and in how God is feeding us. Our congregation has just come out of a period of fasting from corporate worship, as well as from many of the other normal habits of non-pandemic life. We are hungry to get back to “normal.” Now that we are once again able to begin gathering in person, I know there are those among us who are feeling truly fed for the first time in a long time.

I’m one of those people. I’ve missed this assembly, and I’ve missed doing ministry in the physical presence of the people for whom I’m doing it. I’ve missed being able to connect with you all in the little ways that we haven’t been able to for the last 16 months. I’ve only recently begun to realize that it was harder on me than I ever realized.

Read more…